Theatre Passe Muraille presents a Common Boots Theatre Production
in association with Nightwood Theatre and Theatre Direct

Written by Natasha Greenblatt & Yolanda Bonnell with the company*

Directed by Jennifer Brewin

Featuring Augusto Bitter, Rachel Cairns, Joelle Peters, Anand Rajaram, Rose Stella and Courtenay Stevens

Set Design by Anahita Dehbonehie

Lighting Design by Kaitlin Hickey

Costume Design by Jackie Chau

Composition by Alex Samaras

Dramaturgy by Yvette Nolan

with Alex Bulmer Contributing Artist – Script, Voice, Dramaturg

Developed with the support of Studio 180 Theatre and the Banff Playwright’s Lab

Playing October 9th – 27th
at Theatre Passe Muraille, Mainspace


Early Bird Discount Code: “Democracy” valid until October 12th



In 2015, a group of theatre artists signed up to the Canadian Federal Election as volunteers for three major political parties and documented their interactions. Exploring the realities of Indigenous, settler and newcomer experiences with the political process, The Election sparks urgent dialogue just as Canadians take another swing at the ballot box. With a live vocal score, this play asks: Do we have a voice and does that voice count?

The Election is accessible for Deaf and disabled audiences.

Using integrated audio description with a live vocal score, all performances are accessible for Blind audiences and those with low vision.

Open captioned performances will be held on Saturday, October 19 at 2:00 pm and Friday, October 25 at 7:30 pm.

Additional accessibility performances include two Touch tours on Friday Oct 25 at 6:30pm and Saturday Oct 26 at 1:00pm. A relaxed performance with child care support is available on Sunday, October 20 at 2:00 pm. To sign up for child care please contact

PWYC tickets are available at all featured accessibility performances. Some may be limited. Attendant care and companion tickets are free for Deaf and disabled audiences.

This sentence is a link to our Audio Flyer

This sentence is a link to our American Sign Language Video Flyer


*Original company members: Natasha Greenblatt, Yolanda Bonnell, Jennifer Brewin, Anand Rajaram, Courtenay Stevens, Qasim Kahn

Photo by John Lauener